Wild Rose recognizes winter athletes March 17

In making the transition from winter to spring, Wild Rose High School acknowledged the athletes who participated in the winter sports programs during an awards ceremony held March 17.

The wrestling program, co-oped with Wautoma, had wrestlers Marcus Kasuboski awarded with the most takedowns, 65, and was named the most improved player, team captain, conference and sectional champion, while teammates Brian Ortega recorded the fastest pin in 0:15 seconds, and Tanner Deist was a conference champion. 

Boys’ Basketball Varsity Coach Jim Komp said, “We have great kids. We had a  good, excellent year, and it was fun,” with a 16-8 overall record. 

Evan Erickson was named the most improved player, while Tanner Hudziak and Aaron VandeCastle were named as co-most valuable players. Hudziak was designated as the outstanding defensive player, while sharing captain honors with Aaron VandeCastle and Jarrett Tietz. Hudziak and VandeCastle also received 1st Team All-Conference honors. 

Girls’ Basketball Varisty Coach Bruce Williams stated, “This group of girls players is second to none, incredible. There was one team mentality among all of the girls” and he urged the athletes to “always pursue the next victory, always pursue the next step in getting better.” 

The 14-10 overall record was good enough for second place in the conference. Most valuable player Johanna Shepard led the team in a number of ways, including assists. 

Alexa Gravunder broke the three-point record with 53; and Ashley Mendoza and Haley Stoll were named co-most improved players. Mendoza led in rebounding with 177. Shepard was also named 1st Team All-Conference, while Gravunder received 2nd Team All-Conference and Mendoza All-Conference Honorable Mention. 

  To view more, please log in or subscribe to the digital edition.