Waushara County 4-H members and leaders recognized on Nov. 5

The Waushara County 4-H Clubs recently recognized their members and leaders during their annual recognition program at the Waushara County Courthouse on Nov. 5. The event honors those have made outstanding accomplishments this past year.

In 2017, nine members concluded their 4-H careers as youth members, including Noah Langenfeld, Sarah Lauer, Nick Erickson, Hannah Olsen, Violet Schwersenska, Carina Brooks, Jordan Krentz, Emily Wills and Sierra Parker.

The 4-H record books describing member’s goals and achievements as a club member and through their projects are the basis for the remainder of the awards presented at the Achievement Program. 

The Farm Bureau Women’s Committee and Board of Directors recognized the following for excellent record books: Christopher Gunst, Sydney Kramer, Brooke Blader-Lucht, Mikayla Flyte, Aislee Luttropp, Kylie Garner, Catelyn Olsen, Jalyn Piechowski, Noah Langenfeld, Hannah Olsen. 

In addition to these awards, the Waushara County Home and Community Education recognized youth with the presentation of 4-H recognition items. The members honored included: Micah Brooks, Kadince Brewer, Adam Krause, Taylor Flyte, Jody Simenson, Peyton Simenson, Marisa Jewell, Cathryn Gunst, Christopher Gunst, Robert Gropp, Mariah Boron, Larissa Piechowski, Brett Jones, Jori Lundt, Ava Butt, Madelyn Nigbor, Laura Babcock, Allison Botters, Kylie Garner, Hazil Luttropp, Aislee Luttropp, Makenna Rettler, Karissa Rettler, Sydney Kramer, Savannah Heise, Makayla Verstegen, Brianna Buechner, Hilarie Hanson, Trevor Clark, Garrett Lundt, Cailey Gunderson and Maria Lauer.     

The older members re-ceived awards in specific projects and in leadership and achievement, sponsored by the Land and Water Education Committee and the 4-H Leaders Association. The members receiving recognition included: Noah Langenfeld, Samuel Langenfeld, Nicolas Langenfeld, Christine Good, Hannah Olsen, Catie Olsen,  Mikayla Flyte, Tristen Flyte, Carina Brooks, Esther Brooks, Kaitlyn Brooks, Mackenzie Risch, Joseph Schmidt, JoAnna Schmidt, Amber Babcock, Miranda Ewald, Avery Lehr, Catie Schmidt, Erin Kelly, Bailey Blader-Lucht, Brooke Blader-Lucht, Wyatt Aton, Jalyn Piechowski, Brooke Trochinski, Haille Piechowski, Alyssa Buechner, Sophie Reid, Jacob Neubauer, Isaac Kramer, Mateja Clark, Michael Marks, Malachi Marks, Christopher Mankowski and Clarence Lundt.

Annually, the “I Dare You Leadership Award” is given to an older member showing leadership potential and encouraging them to continue their personal development and contributions to their community. Catelyn Olsen was selected to receive this award.  

In addition to these awards, clubs received recognition for herdsmanship at the Waushara County Fair. The Livestock Herdsmanship awards were presented to: Mt. Morris Pioneers for Rabbits; Loyal for Beef, Sheep Swine and Dairy Herdsmanship; Pine River Rainbows Horse and Poultry; and Cedar Valley Goats.

This year Sarah Lauer and Emily Willis were chosen to receive recognition for the work in the livestock project. Lauer received the Outstanding Graduate Award for continued growth through her livestock projects, while Willis was presented the Shepherd Award for helping in the sheep exhibit area during the fair.  

One goal of 4-H is to encourage 4-H members to be active members of their community through either development or service projects. Three levels of achievement were recognized this year, including Gold, Silver and Green levels.

  To view more, please log in or subscribe to the digital edition.