Mt. Morris Mutual Staff: (standing): Connie Weber, Kathy Warzynski, Amanda Knoch, Brenda Pietrowski, Jackie Thompson, Jerry Milligan, Karen Lee, Cathy Atkinson, Jan Blum, Sue Marotz, and Daniel Fenske; (sitting): Tina Bock, Danielle Loeffler, Vicki Bloss, Melissa Bittelman, Ashley Wolfe, Rita Weisjohn, Debbie Koepp, and Sam Reichhoff.

Mt Morris Mutual celebrates 140th anniversary

On Sept. 7, 1875, Mt. Morris Norwegian Mutual Fire Insurance Company was organized in Mt. Morris. A Lutheran minister partnered with 12 local farmers who all donated a dollar to start the company.

One hundred and forty years later, the company serves over 18,500 policyholders throughout the state and has written premiums in excess of $21 million. The company has resided in Waushara County since its existence.

On Sept. 11, a celebration was held at the Chula Vista Resort and Conference Center in Wisconsin Dells in honor of the Mt. Morris Mutual’s 140 years of service to Wisconsin’s families and business owners. Over 170 individuals from around the state and country attended this historic event, including the company’s agent partners, business associates, the Mt. Morris staff, and board of directors.

The day’s events included education classes for agents, boat ride on the Wisconsin River and golf. The evening events began with Senator Luther Olson addressing the crowd and congratulating Mt. Morris on this historic accomplishment. President/CEO of Mt. Morris Mutual, Daniel Fenske introduced the 30 members of the Mt. Morris staff and board of directors, and updated the attendees on the company’s consistent approach in becoming a major presence in Wisconsin by maintaining its strong, secure financial position.   

  To view more, please log in or subscribe to the digital edition.