Locals receive Herb Kohl Educational Foundation Student Scholarships

The selection committee for the Herb Kohl Edu-cational Foundation Student Scholarship, Teacher Fellow-ship, and Principal Leadership program an-nounced the recipients of the 304 Herb Kohl Foundation awards for students. Scholarships in the amount of $10,000 will be given to 188 graduating high school students, and two of these are from the local area.


The Student Excellence Scholarship for the CESA 5 division was awarded to Westfield Area High School’s Lily Wagner. Lily has demonstrated excellence in the academic arena and high motivation to achieve, has displayed a broad range of activity and leadership outside the academic setting, and has shown strong promise for succeeding in college and beyond.


The Student Initiative Scholarship in the CESA 5 category was awarded to Wautoma High School’s Dylan Edge. To be awarded this scholarship, the recipient, chosen by their schools, demonstrated exceptional initiative in the classroom and have shown strong promise for succeeding in college and beyond; however, they have not yet received other academic-based sch-olarships. 

“I think it is significant that Wisconsin’s students, teachers, principals, and schools are recognized for their devotion to education and learning,” said Dr. Chris Cody, WCRIS board president. “Across Wisconsin, our communities benefit from Herb Kohl’s longstanding and generous philanthropy to our educators and students,” said State Superintendent Carolyn Stanford Taylor.

The Kohl Foundation Scholarship and Fellowship program was established by Herb Kohl, philanthropist and businessman, in 1990. To date, the foundation has awarded $17.8 million to Wisconsin educators, principals, students, and schools. “Education is the key to the future of Wisconsin and our nation. I am very proud of the accomplishments of these students, teachers, and principals, and look forward to the great contributions they will make in the future,” said Kohl.


Award recipients were notified of their awards on March 4. Regional recognition luncheons honoring the recipients will be held in a few weeks. Herb Kohl will attend all luncheons and presents awards to the recipients.